Skip to content

Santa Eufemia Convent

This monastery of Minim Sisters was founded, consecrated to Saint Euphemia, patron saint of the city, as chosen by the then City Council on September 16, 1410. The current church was built between 1739 and 1763, designed and begun by the master Cristóbal García. Externally it presents a graceful play of volumes and roofs.

Discover the Convent of Santa Eufemia.

Its octagonal plant has a great development in height, being hidden in its low bodies of the façade, due to the attached volumes. On the outside, the belfry and the suspended dressing room of the titular Saint stand out as singular notes. Its interior is configured as a large unitary and central space, where the chapel and the high and low choirs on the same axis fail to break.


The elevation presents a giant order of pilasters and cornices of great flight that are mixed with elements of Doric and Ionic. The concave slabs alternating with semicircular arches and escarzanos, cause an articulation of baroque lines. The main chapel is crowned with rococo plasterwork. In the dressing room, on a golden base and temple is the titular image, Santa Eufemia, the work of Andrés de Carvajal. The main altarpiece is dark green, bordered in gold and rococo decoration. Frontero to the gate of the street, we find the beautiful altarpiece of the Virgen de los Dolores, of very lively trace and rococo style. The image is a beautiful painful dress of the year 1745 and of Sevillian origin.

On either side of the main chapel there are two altarpieces of no interest, in which we find the images of San Francisco de Paula of the seventeenth century, and the Virgen del Rosario. Below both sculptures, in small niches, we find a tiny San José of the eighteenth century, and a San Juan Baptizing of polychrome clay.


Address: Calle Belén, 4, Antequera, Málaga

Schedule: Saturday and Sunday, 11:00–13:30

Phone: 952 84 13 97